BZA 2012

The BZA Founders' Award

The Founders’ Award is for UK based postgraduate scientists working in the area of micro and/or meso porous science.  It is aimed to celebrate the best and/or most promising postgraduate scientist of the year. The Award will be presented each year at the BZA annual Meeting. The Award has been devised in Honour of Lovat Rees, one of the father figures of British Zeolite Science and one of the founders of the British Zeolite Association.

The 2011 winner was James Paterson, who did his PhD on "Exploitation of synergy in oxidation catalysis with bimetallic aluminophosphate catalysts" with Robert Raja at the University of Southampton. Congratulations!

The Award will consist of a trophy (Founders’ cup) and a cash prize. A scientific committee consisting of both academic and Industrial Scientists will assess the application. In the event of dead-heats by assessors a short phone interview may be used. The Award will be announced in good time before the BZA conference each year to allow the successful candidate reasonable time to arrange attendance to receive their award.

 The criteria for application is as follows

  1. The key criteria is that the candidate must hold a first degree or equivalent and be studying for a postgraduate degree in a recognised UK institution and clearly working in the area of micro and/or mesoporous materials.
  2. The candidate should then submit a one-page summary of their research with an accompanying note of nomination from their academic supervisors.
  3. The one page summary should be appended with a list of references, papers, patents, presentations, posters, awards or other addition information.
  4. Only submissions received before the announced deadline will be considered.

The 2012 Award will be presented at the Summer International BZA Meeting in Chester. The deadline for application is May 25th, 2012. Submissions should be sent to the BZA Secretary, Professor Craig Williams, at

The winner will be announced Friday, June 8th.

 David J. Law, PhD, MRSC, BZA Chairman


This page was last updated on 18.10.2011